1 asbü-background-image

Translations:

Ankara Sosyal Bilimler Üniversitesi

ASBÜ TANITIM  FİLMİ

"ASBÜ'nün vizyonu dünyadaki araştırma üniversiteleri arasında, sosyal bilimler araştırmaları alanında etkin bir konuma gelmektir."


Frequently Asked Questions

What kind of a career can I pursue with a degree in Peace and Conflict Studies?

Individuals with a degree in peace and conflict studies have a great diversity of sectors in which they can find employment. One can work anywhere from a private coporation resolving internal conflicts, to non-profit organizations focusing on strengthening civil society, to the national government improving diplomatic relations between countries. Peace and conflict careers can be involved in the law, public policy, human rights, business practices, and many other areas. It is important to note that because the peace and conflict field is so multidisciplinary, one can find a career in any discipline derived from social sciences and also find oneself working for peace. Likewise, as diversified as careers go, salaries also vary in range, depending upon the employer’s budget, size, and qualifications. In addition, earning a MA degree increases one’s chances of employment in an increasingly competitive field.

What kind of employers are interested in Peace and Conflict Studies Graduates?

● American-Mideast Education & Training Services: http://www.amideast.org/

● American Civil Liberties Union: http://www.aclu.org/

● Amnesty International: http://www.amnestyusa.org/

● Carter Center: http://www.cartercenter.org/

● CARE, Inc.: http://www.care.org/

● Carnegie Council on Ethics & International Affairs: http://www.cceia.org/

● Carnegie Endowment for International Peace: http://www.ceip.org/

● Center for War/Peace Studies: http://www.cwps.org/

● Conflict Management Group: http://www.cmgroup.org/

● Conflict Resolution Center International: http://www.conflictres.org/

● Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service: http://www.fmcs.gov/internet/

● The Fund for Peace: http://www.fundforpeace.org/

● INCORE: http://www.incore.ulst.ac.uk/

● Institute for Multi-Track, Diplomacy: http://www.imtd.org/

● Institute for Policy Studies: http://www.ips-dc.org/

● Institute for World Affairs: http://www.iwa.org/

● International Alert: http://www.international-alert.org/

● International Crisis Group: http://www.intl-crisis-group.org/

● InterReligious Council of CNY – Community Wide Dialogue to End Racism: www.irccny.org

● Mercy Corps: http://www.mercycorps.org

● National Peace Foundation: http://www.nationalpeace.org/

● Non-Violence International: http://www.nonviolenceinternational.net

● Program on the Analysis and Resolution of Conflicts (PARC): www.maxwell.syr.edu/parc/

● Peace Brigades International: http://www.peacebrigades.org/

● Peace Makers Trust: http://www.peacemakers.ca/

● Peace Vox: http://www.peacevox.com/

● Search for Common Ground: http://www.sfcg.org/

● TransAfrica, http://www.transafricaforum.org/

● US Institute of Peace: http://www.usip.org/

● The United Nations: http://www.un.org/

● The William & Flora Hewlett Foundation: http://www.hewlett.org/

● World Commission on Peace & Human Rights Counsel: http://www.worphco.cjb.net/

● World Policy Institute: http://www.worldpolicy.org

For additional questions please reach us at peace@asbu.edu.tr.